How to Clear Netflix History in Few Steps | Digital Trends Spanish


There are many reasons why you might want to delete your Netflix viewing history, and fortunately the process for doing so is incredibly simple, even if it isn’t immediately obvious to you. Everyone has seen things they don’t want to leave a trace of, and streaming platforms know that very well.

How to clear Netflix history

Step 1

First, log into your Netflix account using the browser of your choice. Because your viewing history is specific to your individual profile, you will need to ensure that you choose the correct profile, if there are multiple users in your login. If you accidentally select the wrong profile, don’t worry, you can choose a different one using the drop-down menu in the upper right corner.

Step 2

Next, head over to the above-mentioned drop-down menu in the right corner and select the button Account.

Step 3

Once there, scroll down to the section My profile and click on the blue link that says Display activity. This will take you to a page that shows everything you have seen.

Step 4

At the far right of each entry there will be a “no” symbol. (Note: the images below show an “x” instead of the new bar icon that Netflix has used, but you get the idea.)

Clicking this icon will remove the entry from your history (and thus remove any impact it may have had on your personalized recommendations). However, it can take up to 24 hours for the change to take effect.

Something to keep in mind: In the case of series, each episode will be included in an individual list, labeled by season and episode title. Clicking on the bar icon and on a single show will remove only that specific episode. You will then receive a message asking if you want to delete the entire series from your history, which you can do with a quick click.

Step 5

Do you want to delete your entire viewing history in one go? Netflix doesn’t really have an option for this from your profile, although a solution here would be to simply delete your profile entirely and start over. To do this, go to Netflix and log in; then instead of selecting a profile, choose Manage profiles.

Click the little pencil icon on the profile you want to delete, then choose Delete Profile (you’ll have to do this twice to confirm). Then click Add profile and write the name you want to use for your new profile.

And that is! You don’t need to click the “Save” button or anything. Just go back to the navigation page and start looking at things, so the suggestions come back. For more help, here is a handy selection of tips and tricks to get more out of Netflix.

Editor’s Recommendations






You may also like...

Leave a Reply